New Jersey Bans Open Fires In 11 Counties

NEW JERSEY —  Officials in New Jersey plan to prohibit open burning in 11 counties until further notice in some counties. 

The ban on open burning goes into effect at 8 a.m. Wednesday, according to authorities, and comes as fire departments prepare to fight two major forest fires in the state’s south. 

The prohibition will be in effect for the following counties: 

Burlington, Monmouth, Ocean, Middlesex (south of the Raritan River), Mercer (except Hopewell Township), Atlantic, Camden, Cumberland, Gloucester and Salem counties.

Fires directly on the field are banned in North Jersey unless they are contained inside a prepared fire ring.  

A lack of precipitation — New Jersey is up to 20% below normal for precipitation so far in 2021 — and wet, dry conditions for the coming days have exacerbated the state’s fire danger.